2017 Principals' Leadership Award and Teaching Excellence Award Was Hosted in Taichung

(Courtesy of Li, Ying Rong, Division of Junior High, Elementary School and Preschool Education)



The annual teaching excellence award ceremony was held in Chung Shan Hall, Taichung City, on September 8, 2017. Vice President, Chen, Jian Ren was present to pay tribute to the award-winning principals and teachers in person. In addition, Lin, Teng Chiao, Administrative Deputy Minister of Education, Chiu, Chien Kuo, Director-General of the K-12 Education Administration, and Lin, Yi Ying, Deputy Mayor of Taichung City, were also present to recognize those outstanding award-winning principals and teaching teams and express their gratitude towards their contributions to education.

The 2017 Principals' Leadership Award and Teaching Excellence Award were co-hosted by the Education Bureau of Taichung City Government and Taichung Guang De Junior High School. The award presenting ceremony was unveiled by the Chinese Orchestra of Taichung Guang De Junior High School, followed by a dancing show staged by Taichung Municipal Wen Hua Senior High School as well as the performance by Orchestra of Taichung Municipal Guang Fu Elementary School, which had added vitality and enthusiasm to the ceremony.

A total of 69 candidates from different cities and counties were shortlisted for the Principals' Leadership Award this year. The jury selected 20 outstanding principals for this award through evaluating their presentations, which set forth their ideas about education, management strategies, and school development. In addition to one trophy, the award-winning principals were also awarded \$ 200,000 NTD of prize money.

In the final round, four senior high school principals surged out to win the award. They are, Chen, Guo Xiang at National Experimental High School of Central Taiwan Science Park, Xu, Sheng Zhe at Taipei Jingwen High School, Zhang, Fu Xiang at National Peimen Senior Agricultural and Industrial Vocational School, and Lin, Xiang Yin at Kaohsiung Municipal Rueisiang High School. Meanwhile, five junior high school principals outperformed their counterparts, and they are Jiang, Zheng Ming at Kaohsiung Ling Ya Junior High School, Cai, Mei Yan at Tainan Min De Junior High School, Shi, Yu Xu at Taipei Municipal Fu'an Junior High School, Tong, Feng Jiao at Hsinchu Hsin Feng Junior High School, and Li, Jin Ren at Changhua Lu Ming Junior High School, respectively. In the elementary school group, 11 principals were awarded the prize: Huang, Mu Yin at Taoyuan Dong An Elementary School, Jiang, Guo Liang at Pingtung County Hengchun Primary School, Liu, Xi Xin at Yilan Li Ming Elementary School, Wu, Ya Fen at Taoyuan Elementary School, Pilin Yapu at Taichung P'uma Elementary School, Lin, Hui Zhen at Taipei Guang Hwa Elementary School, Xing, Xiao Ping at Taoyuan Da Yeh Elementary School, Lai, Zhao Gui at Taipei Yong An Elementary School, Tainan Hsin Tai Elementary School, Lin, Jun Jian at Taichung Shang Shih Elementary School, and Lin, Yi Cheng at Nantou Jhang Sing Elementary School.

As for the Teaching Excellence Award this year, a total of 236 teams signed up for the competition, and 106 teaching teams in total from different cities and counties were recommended for the semi-final. During the evaluation process, they had gone all out to present their best teaching ideas and strategies, and showcase their professional knowledge and enthusiasm. A total of 40 teams were shortlisted by the jury after some careful discussions. Among them, 19 teams brought home the gold medal and were awarded \$600,000 NTD of prize money, and 21 won the silver medal and were awarded \$300,000 NTD of prize money.

Eight senior high schools were shortlisted for the Teaching Excellence Award, and four of them won the gold medal award, namely Kaohsiung Municipal Kaohsiung Girls'Senior High School, Taichung Municipal Taichung First Senior High School Kaohsiung Lu Chu Senior High School, and Taipei School for The Hearing Impaired. On the other hand, the other four schools

were recognized with the silver medal, and they were National Da Hu Agricultural and Industrial Vocational High School, New Taipei Municipal Jui-Fang Industrial High School, National Sihu Senior High School, and National Kimen Agricultural & Industrial Vocational Senior High School, respectively.

Moreover, nine junior high schools were shortlisted: four of them won the gold medal, namely, Miaoli Hegang Junior High School, Tainan Municipal He Shun Junior High School, Hsinchu Emei Junior High School, and Taoyuan Ping Jhen Junior High School. The other five schools brought home the silver medal, and they are Taichung Municipal Tachia Junior High School, Nantou Bei Mei Junior High School, Hsinchu Pei Ying Junior High School, Taitung Da Wu Junior High School, and Taipei Beizheng Junior High School, respectively.

Furthermore, 14 primary schools were shortlisted, and seven of them were awarded the gold medal, namely Tainan Municipal Haidong Elementary School, Tainan Nanhua Elementary School, Kaohsiung Zhongxiao Elementary School, New Taipei City Youmu Elementary School, Taoyuan City Gong Pu Elementary School, Pingtung Ken Ding Elementary School, and New Taipei City Hengshan Elementary School. In the meantime, the other seven primary schools received the silver medal, and they were New Taipei City Micang Elementary School, Taichung Long-Hai Elementary School, Kaohsiung Qishan Elementary School, Kaohsiung Wen Fu Elementary School, Yilan Cheng Gong Elementary School, Taichung P'uma Elementary School, and Taoyuan Wenshan Elementary School, respectively.

Last but not least, nine kindergartens were shortlisted, and four of them won the gold medal, namely, Affiliated Kindergarten of Taipei Municipal Wenhua Elementary School, Affiliated Kindergarten of Yunlin Nan Yang Elementary School, Affiliated Kindergarten of Taipei Municipal Fu'an Elementary School, Affiliated Kindergarten of Tainan Municipal Bo'ai Elementary School. Meanwhile, the other five won the silver medal, and they were Affiliated Kindergarten of Pingtung Jutian Elementary School, Private Affiliated Kindergarten of National Taiwan University Campus Development Foundation, Affiliated Kindergarten of Keelung Dong Guang Elementary School, Affiliated Kindergarten of Chiayi Wen Gang Elementary School, and Affiliated Kindergarten of Tainan Municipal Liou Jia Elementary School, respectively.