Twenty Principals and 40 Teams Are Recognized by the 2021Annual Excellent Principal and Teacher Awards

(Courtesy of Ya-Chun Hsieh at the Division of Junior High and Elementary Education)



The award ceremony of the 2021 Excellent Principal and Teacher Awards launched by the Ministry of Education was held at the National Chung Cheng University on November 19, 2021. With the fierce competition among each group, 20 candidates were finally selected to be the winners of this year's President's Leadership Excellence Award through a fair and rigorous selection process. Meanwhile, 18 teams won the gold award and 22 teams won the silver award of the Teaching Excellence Awards. Wen-Chung Pan, Minister of Education, and Li-Shan Chang, Mayor of Yunlin County, were present to congratulate the winners and recognize their contribution and dedication to education.

The selection of winners of the Excellent Principal and Teacher Awards this year was organized by the Yunlin County Government and the Municipal Yunlin Junior High School. The award ceremony was unveiled with the musical performance by EnjoyChamber in the Yunlin County, followed by the performances by the students in the dance program at the Municipal Yunlin Junior High School and the Yunlin Elementary School's choir.

The Ministry of Education stated that 12 terms of the Excellent Principal Awards have been hosted since 2004, with a total of 235 winners. The Excellent Teacher Awards were launched in 2003 and 19 terms of the awards been held so far, with a total of around 750 winning teams. A total of 64 principals in various cities and counties were nominated for this year's Excellent Principal Awards. The participating principals presented their educational philosophy, management strategy, and school performance. In the end, 20 principals with outstanding performance were selected as the winners. In addition to trophies, each of them was awarded a prize money of NT\$200,000 as a grant for them to engage in educational visits or research and development or assist disadvantaged students.

As for the Excellent Principal Awards, there were a total of four winners in the senior high school group, namely Tsung-Sheng Hsu, Principal of Taoyuan Municipal Shou Shan Senior High School, Shu-Chen Nien, Principal of National Changhua Senior School of Commerce, Shu-Fen Liu, Principal of New Taipei Municipal Yongping High School, and Hui-Chen Chiang, Principal of Zhongzheng Senior High School. There were a total of five winners in the junior high school group, namely Hsiu-Chin Tang, Principal of Municipal Miaoliguomin Junior High School, Hsi-Hsuan Hung, Principal of Daan Junior High School, Fu-Nan Shu, Principal of Taichung Municipal Rih-Nan Junior High School, Mao-Cheng Lin, Principal of Guangwu Junior High School, and Yu-Ming Chen, Principal of Yichang Junior High School.

There were a total of 11 winners in the elementary school group, namely Jui-I Chang, Principal of Kaohsiung Municipal Longhuaguomin Elementary School, Yen-Chun Huang, Principal of Taiping Elementary School in Meishan Township, Chiayi County, Jung-Chin Hung, Principal of Tainan Municipal East District Chongsyue Elementary School, Chien-Hsun Tseng, Principal of Kaohsiung City Sinda Elementary School, Cheng-Tsung Chiu, Principal of Juguang Elementary School, Banqiao District, New Taipei City, Shu-Chen Kao, Principal of Danfeng Elementary School, I-Jung Chien, Taipei Municipal Nangang Elementary School, Chih-Cheng Lin, Principal of Tainan Municipal Anping District Yizai Elementary School, Hsiu-He Chien,

Principal of Dunhe Elementary School, I-Ting Chen, Principal of Wenxin Elementary School, and Shih-Meng Weng, Principal of Beitou Elementary School.

A total of 104 teaching teams in various cities and counties were recommended for the finals of this year's Excellent Teacher Awards. During the selection process, each team spared no effort to present their best teaching philosophy and strategies, demonstrating their professionalism and enthusiasm as teachers. After meticulous discussions by the jury, 40 teams were selected as winning teams, of which 18 won the gold award and each received a prize money of NT\$600,000 and the remaining 22 won the silver award and each received a prize money of NT\$300,000.

As for the Excellent Teacher Awards, there were a total of seven winning schools in the senior high school group, of which three won the gold award, namely Taichung Municipal Dongshih Industrial High School, Yongchun Senior High School, and Taipei Municipal Jianguo High School, while the remaining four won the silver award, namely Taichung Municipal Wen-Hua Senior High School, National Chia-Yi Girls' Senior High School, New Taipei City Municipal Shuangxi High School, and New Taipei Municipal Bei Da High School.

A total of nine schools in the junior high school group were selected, of which four won the gold award, namely Dajia Junoir High School, Chiayi County Dapu Junoir High School, Jie Shou Junior High School (note: this school has been merged into Taoyuan Municipal Luo Fu Senior High School in the school year of 2021), and Municipal Douliu Junior High School; the remaining five won the silver award, namely Hsing Nan Junior High School, Shengang Junior High School, Taichung Municipal Chih-Shan Junior High School, Hsinchu County Pei Pu Junior High School, and New Taipei City Wugu Junior High School.

A total of 15 schools in the elementary school team were selected, of which seven won the gold award, namely Tainan Municipal Houbi District Sindong Elementary School, Tong An Elementary School, Tainan Municipal Baihe District Siancao Elementary School, and Fang,

Changhua County Fangyuan Elementary School, Evergreen Lily Elementary School, Wenhua Elementary School, and Zhuhu Elementary School; the remaining eight won the silver award, namely Shuangdong Elementary School, Wenshan Elementary School, Feng Shu Elementary School, Siandong Elementary School, Ruigan Elementary School, Guantian Elementary School, Sanlun Elementary School, and Sunshine Elementary School.

A total of nine preschools in the preschool group were selected, of which four won the gold award, namely Yuhang Kindergarten, Affiliated Preschool of Taipei Municipal Yu Nong Elementary School, Affiliated Preschool of Danfeng Elementary School, and Affiliated Preschool of Shan Fong Elementary School; the remaining five won the silver award, namely Affiliated Preschool of Wenhe Elementary School, Affiliated Preschool of Chiayi Bo Ai Primary School, Affiliated Preschool of Zhengxin Elementary School, Affiliated Preschool of Ta-Nai Elementary School, and Affiliated Preschool of PingXi Elementary School.

The K-12 Education Administration stated that the proposals made by the award-winning principals and teaching teams are well-aligned with the spirit of the new curriculum guidelines and experimental innovation, including the launch of a school-developed curriculum with local cultural characteristics, the expansion of the international perspectives through the power of community co-prosperity, or the adoption of thematic teaching to motivate students to explore topics proactively and develop interdisciplinary abilities through teamwork and mutual learning.