Your browser does not support JavaScript. If the webpage function is not working properly, please enable the browser JavaScript status.
go to Center block ::: Home | Sitemap | 中文版 | RSS


  • January 1, 2013
    In line with the central government reorganization project, the Ministry of Education established the K-12 Education Administration. This third-tier government agency took over related duties previously performed by the Department of Secondary Education, Department of Technological and Vocational Education, Department of Elementary Education, Student Affairs Committee, Special Education Unit, Division of Environmental Protection Education and the MOE’s Central Region Office. The agency set up four divisions and four offices responsible for formulating, executing and supervising educational policies and systems for senior high school education and below. These units also play the role of coordinating between local governments as they handle common affairs regarding compulsory and pre-school education.
  • 1999
    With the Taiwan Provincial Government adjusting its function and organizational structure in July, the Department of Education fell under the MOE as its Central Region Office. The office had eleven sections, with the first six operating as business units and the others—secretarial affairs, general affairs, accounting, personnel and civil service ethics—as staff units. It supervised affairs of public and private senior high, vocational and special education schools in Taiwan Province as well as in the Kinmen and Matsu regions.
  • 1992
    The Department of Education expanded to comprise six sections, nine offices (secretarial affairs, general affairs, military training education, accounting, statistics, personnel, school inspection, research and evaluation, civil service ethics), three divisions (student affairs, information, regulations) and two committees (Mandarin promotion, national physical education), plus a compulsory education advisory group touring Taiwan.
  • 1956
    The Department of Education moved to Wufeng, Taichung County, on August 1.
  • 1955
    The Department of Education was restructured to consist of six sections, four offices and eight committees.
  • 1947
    Taiwan Provincial Administrative Executive Office was restructured to become Taiwan Provincial Government in May; the Department of Education underwent restructuring and fell under the Taiwan Provincial Government at the same time.
  • 1945
    The Department of Education was officially established in Taipei on August 25.
  • After the Japanese colonial rule
    Taiwan Provincial Administrative Executive Office set up the Department of Education, the top government agency in Taiwan handling educational administration, academic and cultural affairs.
Page Views:151